‘Story time’ (part 9)

Tattered and bruised from half a dozen slips and falls, I raced all the way back to camp. Realizing how crazy the truth would sound to anyone who hadn’t witnessed it with their own eyes, I had to avoid them questing my sanity. Instead I convinced Jim that I had found the ‘wolves den’. There simply wasn’t time left to convince him or anyone else, of the horror awaiting us down below. The Nephilim attack was only twelve hours away!

“Smells like they marked you as their territory.”; He grinned from ear to ear.

“That’s not far from the truth.”; I evaded. “…and they plan on leaving an ugly mark on all of us.” Without waiting for Jim to hit me with more difficult to answer questions, I rushed over to the supply tent for dynamite.

The others heard our animated conversation and demanded to know what was going on. I told them the same half truth that I passed along to Jim. Naturally they wanted to know how I had found the wolves’ den. “I followed a huge wolf right to it.”; I explained with a straight face. It was difficult not to grin at my own inside joke and double meaning.

I carried all of the dynamite we had and placed it strategically throughout the mouth of the cave. This time I was armed with a lantern and my rifle. I doubt it would have done any good but it was comforting to have with me, just the same. I ran the detonation wire all the way out down the side of the mountain to what I felt was a safe distance from the blast zone. I raised the detonator’s handle and braced for the explosion.

It sounded like a thousand cannons firing at once when the seven sticks of T.N.T. went off! They told me later that it was heard in town thirty five miles away. The results were even more effective than I could have hoped for. The detonation nearly leveled the top half of the mountain and buried all evidence of Anak’s lair. My ears rang for a week and I was hit with rocks and falling debris but I wasn’t hurt in any significant way.

The men met me half way back to camp, with eyes as wide as saucers. I think they expected me to be under ten tons of rubble. “Are you alright?”; they asked incredulously. I assured them I was fine.

“Do you think you used enough dynamite to destroy that den?”; Ross smirked sarcastically.

“Yeah, I think so.”; I answered with mock uncertainty.

“I don’t know whether I should call you a hero, or a greenhorn idiot”; He exclaimed angrily. “That was every stick of dynamite we had! One or two would have been plenty.”

I told him that ‘hero’ was preferable and that no thanks was necessary for me letting him off the hook for his scheduled watch the following night. Everyone but him enjoyed a good laugh at that.

About Bo Bandy

Just a creative soul trapped in a world of cookie-cutter pragmatism...
This entry was posted in Children's Stories, Different Perspectives, Fiction Stories, Horror, Humor, Science Fiction, Utopia & Armageddon. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

