‘Clarity’ chapter 3

   To my dismay, the bilious aura of charged protons appeared again in the hallway. This ethereal haze grew in intensity until it hovered at the foot of my bed! This time, my determination to understand the wisdom it had to impart; temporarily outweighed my fear. 

   The otherworldly-entity manifested an indistinct shape throughout the second encounter. It’s overall form was basically transient; except for a very familiar looking human ‘face’. That uniquely clear focal point was in sharp contrast to the rest. Regardless, I was too distracted by its stern relay of ominous gestures; to notice any other details. 

   It was as if we were doomed to act out a tragic, silent opera on a nightly basis. Compounding the tragedy was that we had no means of successful communication. Failing that essential connection, there could be no closure and no end to the cycle of frustration. I shook my head to impart my lack of comprehension. Its cold, lifeless eyes starred blankly through me. If the phantom understood my reaction, it did not register in its facial expression.

   It’s mouth delivered indecipherable ‘words’ that no living soul could have grasped. I tried in earnest to bridge the communication gap, none-the-less. No sound emanated from its pale lips, nor did I hear telepathic thoughts in my head. There was nothing tangible I could gain from the baffling discourse to explain its presence. Only my galloping heartbeat thundered in my ears. 

   The two of us were locked in a futile cycle of necromancy. Eventually the surreal, serial meeting would run its course. Hopefully I would glean my supernatural visitor’s purpose. Had it came to warn of my immanent demise before the cock crowed three times? Maybe it was trying to reveal a future event that I was somehow connected to. Perhaps it ventured forth from ‘the beyond’ to chastise me for a long forgotten sin. 

   After my initial fear dissipated somewhat, I was left with a nearly equal measure of morbid curiosity. Eventually it occurred to me that I could try another way to communicate with the specter. Just because I was unable to unlock his cryptic message, didn’t mean that the formless spirit couldn’t understand me. 

   When I first tried to speak, no sound would escape my throat. Even my lips refused to part. Panic set in and my heart raced even more. I was unable to utter a single word; for what seemed like an eternity. I suspected that supernatural forces beyond my understanding were preventing me from interrupting the twice delivered sermon. 

   At last I found my wavering courage but the words themselves still would not come! I had countless questions but I was unable to organize my thoughts to pose them. Only the shadowy expert at the foot of my bed was in a position to answer such deeply sought, universal questions about life after death. It remained to be seen however, if he was willing or able to divulge those forbidden answers.

About Bo Bandy

Just a creative soul trapped in a world of cookie-cutter pragmatism...
This entry was posted in Children's Stories, Different Perspectives, Fiction Stories, Horror, Science Fiction, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

