‘My eraser’ I

    The story I’m about to relate may appear whimsical; or even fanciful. You may suspect it is the far-fetched fantasy of a raving lunatic, but I swear that it is all true. Realistically, I would not expect anyone to believe it either. I would think it was the rambling tale of a deranged madman. That is, if I hadn’t experienced it firsthand.

   I was told that there would be no efforts to suppress the shocking truth. That was undoubtedly because no one would believe a word of my testimony. All I ask is that you read my account with an open mind. If you afford me that small courtesy, you may one day be able to accept the reality of my words.

     It all began a few short days ago (Actually billions of years earlier but I’ll explain my conflicting statement, later). Immediately after arriving home from work, I sat down in my recliner to relax. After a long day of manual labor, I was beyond exhausted. That was further compounded from only having a few hours sleep the previous night. Soon I was ‘dead to the world’. 

   In all honesty, I didn’t even know I had been asleep until I awoke in the evening darkness of my living room. An unsettled feeling came over me and I knew something was amiss. According to the clock on the wall, I had only been asleep for a few hours but something felt very ‘wrong’ about that. It seemed as if I had been asleep for a thousand years! Try as I might, I couldn’t shake that irrational feeling.

   Experiencing that peculiar sensation wasn’t completely new to me. There have been a few other occasions when I experienced a ‘Rip Van Winkle’-like perception after only a short period of unconsciousness. This occurrence of the notion was definitely different, though. Outside it was still dark but my eyes felt as if they had been glued together for eons. Despite the lack of justifiable logic, I couldn’t dismiss the creepy impression that an immense amount of time had passed. 

   For all I knew, a hundred years of life passed between each blink. I only had the perspective of time that I inherited from scholars of the past. Everything that I ‘knew’ was just an assumption. I might have dismissed my maddening philosophical suspicions and went back to sleep; had it not been for one undeniable distraction. There was a small, nefarious looking creature curled up on my floor!

About Bo Bandy

Just a creative soul trapped in a world of cookie-cutter pragmatism...
This entry was posted in Children's Stories, Fiction Stories, Horror, Humor, Jokes, Mystery, Science Fiction, Uncategorized, Utopia & Armageddon, Whimsical. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

