‘Goldmine’

   “Hey! Follow along behind me. I’ve located an amazing gold mine! There’s no end to the bounty there. Normally I don’t like sharing precious treasure with others but there’s more than enough to go around. I located the site purely by happenstance. I was just passing by when I spotted numerous payoffs scattered around the area and waiting to be claimed. Every once in a while there’s a greedy bastard that tries to run me off but he just blows through, and is gone. As soon as he’s out of sight, I circle back around to stake my claim again. I won’t be intimidated, no matter how big he is.”

   “Right on! So, what sort of treasure is it?”

   “Oh, there’s many of them to choose from! I’m going to dig right here and see what I come up with but there are several other choices. Just look over there! I bet you can find plenty in that open vein to be happy about. All you have to do is dig a little. I’ll let you have first claim to it. Just watch out for all the lurking troublemakers. They’ll be along any minute now and they come up fast!”

   The two opportunists picked away enthusiastically at their valuable claims; while dodging the occasional ground protester. As soon as the distraction was over, they returned to their idle bounty. Soon, many others came. Lured by the prospect of easy riches, the word quickly got out. What had been a lucrative claim between two partners was now an overcrowded stretch of disputed land. There were many competitors for the slim pickings. Luckily the original claimant and his fortunate partner received the lion’s share of the treasure. The late comers had to settle for picking through the dwindling remains for modest rewards.

   Once the decaying bones of the roadkill were almost picked clean, a new opportunity arrived. One of the greediest vultures failed to take flight from the carrion in a timely manner and was itself crushed by a passing car. Now the hungry flock had a new treasure to feast upon. The cycle began anew on the lonely stretch of rural highway.

About Bo Bandy

Just a creative soul trapped in a world of cookie-cutter pragmatism...
This entry was posted in Different Perspectives, Fiction Stories, Humor, Jokes, Macabre, Mystery, Science Fiction, Twilight Zone Inspired, Uncategorized, Whimsical and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

