‘Here I lie’

In dreams awake I swam the lake.
No fancy backstrokes did I take.
By moonlit sky I floated across.
Water cool, the air like frost.

To dry land I waved goodbye.
A far shore would soon be nigh.
Curious fish nipped at my toes.
Turtles snapped a bit too close.

I dog paddled ’til cramps set in.
I was guilty of the cardinal sin.
A while I didn’t wait, after I ate.
Mama was right but it’s too late.

Down to the very bottom I sank.
So here I lie, in decay and rank.

About Bo Bandy

Just a creative soul trapped in a world of cookie-cutter pragmatism...
This entry was posted in Different Perspectives, Essays & Rants, Ghost stories, Gothic horror, Horror, Humor, Macabre, Mystery, Poetry, Supernatural, True Stories, Twilight Zone Inspired, Uncategorized, Whimsical and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

