Unobtainable security 

The past couple days my phone has been nagging me (relentlessly) to download and install the newest software update. I understand that everyone having the latest version has many benefits (a higher level of performance and unified customer experience) but the updates ALWAYS make you log back in to numerous ID’s. (ID’s that typically require different passwords from each other)

   Even though I’m the only person in the world with my thumbs, (and use them to sign in to my phone and tablet), they’ve decided that we all need ANOTHER level of log in authentication! In my haste to get the software update over with, (after entering my myriad of ID passwords), I inadvertently agreed to ALSO add a texted 6 digit code that they were going to text me. (It was buried somewhere in the endless legalese).

Once I realized the additional level of hell I just agreed to, I tried to back out. To do that, I’d have to change my existing password. No. 😡 I don’t want to do that. It’s all I can do to keep up with the ones I have now and I’m fed up with the endless demands to constantly create new ones so long and random that no one can remember them. I already have my thumbs and jump through enough hoops.

I (barely) manage to keep track of all my user ID and account passwords and now they want to add even more obstacles to ME using them? No more! No more! No more! I want to punch the paranoid security code writers in the face. They’ve obviously decided that they know what’s better for us and keep adding layers of security that no one asked for. Enough already. Having my money and identity stolen would almost be preferable to the insurmountable hurdles they continue to escalate in the name of ‘login security’. I have my thumbs, damn it! Enough. No more! Who’s with me?

About Bo Bandy

Just a creative soul trapped in a world of cookie-cutter pragmatism...
This entry was posted in Controversial topics, Different Perspectives, Essays & Rants, Humor, Recollections, True Stories, True Stories, Essays & Rants, Uncategorized, Whimsical. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

