‘Lock box’

I was walking alongside a rural roadway one afternoon when I noticed a shiny object lying in the ditch. It was a small container of some sort but I’d never witnessed anything quite like it. The box was constructed of a unique composite material and had cryptic markings on the sides. I’m not in the usual habit of keeping miscellaneous roadside junk that I encounter but this thing was definitely out-of-the-ordinary. It’s overall appearance; and the strange ground markings around where I found the object, fascinated me. I wanted to research the strange characters on the sides of the box when I got home.

I heard something rattling around inside but I couldn’t figure out how to open it. I must admit, I hoped it contained precious jewels or other valuables. An image search for the meaning of the external markings would hopefully help me open the container without damaging it. I was pretty sure it was valuable. I’d never witnessed such an incredible level of precision engineering before. It was truly an impressive thing to behold.

Once home, I took a few pictures and uploaded them to a search site that identifies unknown things. While it didn’t offer any insight into what the box actually was, it did offer some suggestions for how to open it. The instructions were surprisingly complicated but after a few minutes of fumbling around, I achieved a milestone. The smooth, edgeless container began to gently pulsate like a cell phone. Tiny lines appeared around the glass-like sides. Then both edges separated with a grace and fluidity I’ve never witnessed before.

Suddenly the smooth, shiny box was open and I could see inside. Just as puzzling as the origin of the mystery container itself, was the ornate little object within. My first impression was that it resembled some kind of digital ‘key’, or electronic opening device. It might’ve been something like that for all I know but it had no identification marks. I marveled at how technically perfect and intricate the mystery device was. It took an impressive engineer to design it but I still didn’t know what it really was.

In my quest for answers, I went back to the spot where I’d found the box. There was a peculiar burn pattern present in the surrounding ground which I hadn’t noticed before. It was too significant to be a coincidence. It had to be related but I didn’t know how, at the time. I might’ve surmised it was the result of an auto accident but the discoloration pattern in the neighboring grass was oval shaped. Whatever left behind the mystery container wasn’t an ordinary form of transportation. I racked my brain to figure out what sort of vehicle was egg shaped, put off a massive heat exhaust around the edges, and could’ve lost the mystery item.

The key-like thing was like holding a piece of liquified glass. It tingled pleasantly between my thumb and fingers but that wasn’t the unusual part. Amazingly, every single thing I walked past would pulsate and then unlock like it was controlled by a magic garage door opener. It was basically a master skeleton key to the world. I only had to wish it, for it to come true. A thief would’ve been tempted to use it to rob everything. I had no explanation for its universal unlocking capabilities or any other functionality; but it was definitely next-level. For lack of a better term, I felt it was non-terrestrial in origin.

Of course that realization was too frightening to fully articulate. Was the burn pattern on the ground from a visiting spacecraft? I shuttered to think of having a ‘close encounter’ with the occupants. If the device really was from ‘non humans’, then ‘they’ would surely come back to claim their missing ‘space key’. Did it fall off the bottom of their spaceship like one of those cheap magnetized lock boxes used to hide regular car keys?

I smiled at the idea but suddenly it all made perfect sense. If they are anything like us forgetful humans, then accidents happen to them too. I was willing to bet they wouldn’t want to be locked out of their spaceships on field trips either. Triple AAA would surely charge them an arm and a leg to fly all the way to earth, to let them back inside. Either that or a tentacle.

About Bo Bandy

Just a creative soul trapped in a world of cookie-cutter pragmatism...
This entry was posted in Adventure, Children's Stories, Different Perspectives, fantasy, Fiction Stories, Humor, Mystery, Science Fiction, Thought provoking, Twilight Zone Inspired, Whimsical. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment